What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Hello Again

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve been here.  Life, again, has played a huge role in keeping me away from here.  And, while it is about to get even more complicated, I will find myself here for needed reflection and diversion.

hopeSo, what’s been going on lately?  Quite a lot, actually, so let me summarize.  I’ve moved, from an apartment into a house.  It’s nice not to have shared walls, floors, ceilings, etc.  With the house has come a new pet – meet Hope, the dog.  She’s great fun and good company.  She’s about 2 years old and I got her from the local rescue group.  Hopefully she’ll be able to go along on some longer runs.  So far, she’s good for about 2.5-3 miles so I take her on shorter days.

XC_picAnother “biggie” for me this year is that I switched from coaching club soccer to Cross Country at my school.  Our previous coach has a full-time job elsewhere and received a promotion.  While great for him, it meant he was unable to coach the team this year.  After a few attempts to hire a new coach, the school asked me if I would step in.  It was a difficult decision, but in the long run one I am happy with.  I will still be coaching soccer at school this spring and it gives me an opportunity to expand my horizons a bit and share another passion I have, which is running.

My first season ends this weekend with 8 runners (4 girls and 4 boys) qualified for, and running in, the State Championship meet.  While none are expected to win it, they all have as their goal to run a season best time.  It has been an exciting year and a great learning experience for me.  The kids seemed to have fun and the numbers stayed fairly constant throughout the season.  I’m already working on improvements to the training schedule, types of runs, and groupings of runners for next year.

Also this fall, I haven’t been cooking at home as much for a wide variety of reasons. As a result, my overall eating habits have suffered.  But, I have a renewed interest in eating well and have decided I’m going to try my hand at bread making.  Over the years, I’ve dabbled in various desserts and even posted a few of them here (Cream PuffsRaspberry Crisp ).  But the other day, I decided I was going to try baking my own specialty breads.  Not sandwich bread, but the French bread, Rosemary Olive bread, Chicago Hard Rolls, etc., that I love so much and buy from the bakery at the local grocery store.  My kids always accused me of being a “bread-aholic” as we always had some sort of artisan bread on the table for just about every meal.  It would sit on the counter or table and rarely last 2 days before we would have to run out and buy more.

bread1So I tried my hand at it the other day and found it not nearly as difficult as I originally imagined.  Not the one to use a bread making machine, my plan is to do it all from scratch, by hand and burn/bake it in the oven.  I’m looking forward to it and to trying a wide variety of recipes.  My first attempt, while tasty, was a bit too heavy in texture and on the tongue, so I will try again.  Did I under or over knead?  Too much flour?  Not allow enough time to rise?  Who knows, but it will be fun finding out.  Hopefully my kitchen won’t end up covered in flour and as white as my hair has turned.

There have been plenty of other things going on, both on the personal and professional level, and I will get to them in due course.  But, y’gotta start somewhere, right?  So here we go.  I hope to be posting regularly again, at least 2 times a week on a wide variety of topics, I’m sure.  Given that goal, I bid you Hello Again.

One comment on “Hello Again

  1. Pingback: Breaking Bread | What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2015 by in Cooking, Food, Happiness, Life, Running and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
