What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

An Update

It has been a long time since my last post.  Life has kept me busy, to be sure, and it’s been good to me.  A few quick updates on a few subjects with the promise of more details to follow.

handsontrophyFirst…the soccer team.  We finished the season with a record of 24-2.  Both of the loses were legitimately our fault and could have easily been victories had we not made a handful very simple mental mistakes.  For example, a keeper should scoop up the ball, not reach down and grab it.  He should always do that no matter how fast or slow the shot is.  If the ball is on the ground, scoop it.  Period.  End of statement.  A simple mental mistake I’m certain he will never make again in his career.  That accounted for one loss.  Other mental errors in those two loses amounted to playing balls that should never, ever be played in the circumstances they were, not keeping your head down/eye on the ball when trying to clear a ball, and other such simple mental lapses.  Be all that as it may, we ended the season holding up the Championship Trophy and ranked in the top 15 in the nation.  I’d call that a successful year.

pullSecond, I’ve taken up a new hobby…Skeet shooting.  A friend got into recently and has been after me to join in.  I went one day and had a blast…no pun intended.  I’ve been a few more times since, each time borrowing a gun.  I broke down and bought my own the other day.  Not especially an inexpensive sport, though you can get involved without mortgaging the house or borrowing against retirement.  Who knew they sold shotguns for over $9,000?  I certainly didn’t until recently.  Mine was nowhere near that much, but I did opt for the Over/Under as opposed to Semi-Auto.  I guess it’s just the purist in me.  Slowly improving, it’s one of those activities that requires consistent practice to really excel at.  I realize my schedule doesn’t allow for that kind of dedication, but I enjoy being out there vaporizing the occasional clay target.

photo(1)Third, my running routine has suffered a bit, but I’m still at it.  I’ve focused on middle distances lately, trying to keep myself in the 4.5-8.5 mile range.  As a result of staying away from longer distances, my times have been getting faster.  The other day, I was out for a short run and hit a new “best time” for the distance.  Mind you, this “best time” only covers the last 3 years.  When I was younger and running shorter distances, this time reflected a typical training run.  But still, it was nice to fall into a smooth easy pace that was faster than I’ve been running for a while.   What I really like about this run is the “negative splits.”  In essence, each mile was faster than the one before it.  The temps and other conditions were ideal that morning and I felt great when it was over.

Finally, as you know from my last post, I have an interest in bourbon.  Not just any bourbon, mind you, but good bourbon.  The “Holy Grail” of bourbon these days is Pappy Van Winkle.  There are 5 Pappy bourbons, aged 10, 12, 15, 20, and 23 years respectively.  They also bottle a rye.  These are produced in limited quantities and as such, are highly sought after.  A few months back, someone stole 65 cases of Pappy and it was such an event it made national news.  So rare is a bottle of Pappy that the 23 year old elixir sells for upwards of $2600 on the secondary market.

So I’ve made it a mission in life to find this magical potion and taste it.  It took a while, but not as long as I thought.  A liquor store in Louisville, Westport Wine and Liquor, has a tasting room.  And in that tasting room, guess what I found.  Yeah…I found them all.  I lined them up for a photo so my friends could drool.  And, of course, I was able to sample the precious Pappy 23.  Smoooooooth.

pappy

All in all, it’s been a pretty good Spring.  I have try outs coming up this weekend for the club team and the boys are excited to be back, playing together.  Their respective high school seasons were ok, they said, but they really couldn’t wait to get back play together.  It’s an exciting time for them.  I have plans this summer to travel, run, shoot, drink and enjoy my life.  Work will be incredibly busy as I get to redesign our entire network between now and mid August.  I’ll touch base here more frequently, but until next time, I thought I’d provide An Update.

 

 

 

7 comments on “An Update

  1. poesravenlady
    May 30, 2014

    So much to do, so little time. I look forward to your returning words. I just spent a week in Florida…quite taken with Navarre beach. Have a wonderful summer! 🙂

    • Chuck
      May 30, 2014

      Very true! lol

      Glad you had fun in Florida. I saw your more recent posts the other day. Thought provoking and insightful as always.

      • poesravenlady
        May 30, 2014

        Returning in late June and looking for a Hemingway-like getaway– know of any? And thank you… emotions, they ebb and flow. 😉

  2. cloudoflace
    December 23, 2014

    Get back to blogging!! 🙂

    • Chuck
      December 23, 2014

      Yes, I truly should. I will post some thoughts today. It’s nice to see you “back” more frequently.

      • cloudoflace
        December 23, 2014

        Okay I’m busted as well >.< (thanks though)

        Looking forward to your next post!

      • Chuck
        December 23, 2014

        working on one now thanks to your prodding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2014 by in Friends, Happiness, Life, Running, Soccer, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
