What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Gonna be Cold

shivering-clip-artAs a large part of the nation settles into a few days of deep freeze, even the temps here are dropping.  After all, Alabama lost the Sugar Bowl and hell has frozen over.   We are feeling the effects of it here.  It started yesterday and the thermometer fell through the floor overnight.  T’was a tad bit chilly this morning and it’s still only 22° here.

So yesterday’s run was a simple 4.5 miles in the chilling air.  The temps were in the 30’s and the wind was whipping around pretty hard.  I bundled up in layers to stay warm and made sure I took the time to warm up the legs before I took off.  The run itself was uneventful, just a typical run at my usual site.  I did pass an older couple out for a walk though and noticed they were bundled up pretty snug!  Sweat pants, hoodies, jackets, gloves…I remember thinking about Randy in the movie, “A Christmas Story.”  It gave me a chuckle as I passed them by and then thought “good for them!!”

After getting home I decided that too much knowledge won’t hurt me, so I Googled “running in the cold” and clicked to read a Runner’s World article.  It had 10 Tips for running in the cold but I found this to be amusing.  Here they are talking about dressing appropriately for the temps (full article here  http://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/10-tips-running-cold?page=single):

30 degrees: 2 tops, 1 bottom. Long-sleeve base layer and a vest keep your core warm. Tights (or shorts, for polar bears).
10 to 20 degrees: 2 tops, 2 bottoms. A jacket over your base layer, and wind pants over the tights.
0 to 10 degrees: 3 tops, 2 bottoms. Two tops (fleece for the cold-prone) and a jacket. Windbrief for the fellas.
Minus 10 to 0 degrees: 3 tops, 2 bottoms, extra pair of mittens, 1 scarf wrapped around mouth or a balaclava.
Minus 20 degrees: 3 tops, 3 bottoms, 2 extra pairs of mittens, 1 balaclava, sunglasses. Or, says Arribas, “Stay inside.”

I am a true Southerner.  I have run when the temps were in the teens before, but never in temps below 10°.  That’s just insane to me.  I know, I know, I know…plenty of people live where these temps are part of every day life in the winter.  I know they are used to it and have adjusted.  But whew…wow.  I’d be an icicle if I tried to run in those temps.

I actually like running when it’s cooler.  The brisk air fills my lungs and motivates me to keep going.  As my body core heats up I fall into a comfortable pace that not only gets me where I’m going, it keeps me warm!  The only place I really “feel” the cold is on my neck.  So, I have taken to wearing typical ear band down around my neck.  I turn it so that the ear covers are at the front and back of my neck, thus keeping me warm and covered.  It isn’t much, but it does the trick.  Life’s little oddities, ‘ay?

Of course, I think nothing of running when the temps are in the 100’s, so I guess it all comes around.  Needless to say, I can layer up as the article suggests, but you won’t find me running in temps below 10° anytime soon.  I hope that everyone dresses appropriately and is careful out there in the coming season.  I’ll be out later today, all be bundled up.  Cuz after all, it’s Gonna be Cold.

One comment on “Gonna be Cold

  1. Pingback: Kaip apsisaugoti nuo nušalimo? | Šilutės rajono savivaldybės

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2014 by in A Southern Perspective, Happiness, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
