What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

So…How Did it Go…?

goals-attainedWhen I started the year off, like so many of us, I had some goals in mind for 2013.  Now that the year is coming to a close, I suppose it’s time to look back at some of them.

1.  Run 750 miles for the year.  I will make that one for the year.  I am at 746 now and have a 6 mile run scheduled tomorrow and a 4.5 mile run for Monday and a 10 miler on Tuesday.  A modest goal, I admit, but one that required a year-long commitment to attain.  I had two low mileage months, August and September, but both of those were very busy for me in other respects.  While travel took me out-of-town frequently, I did get to run in NYC, Philadelphia, Louisville, Atlanta, Memphis, Raleigh, and Boston.  It was great fun.

2.  Win a High School State Soccer Championship.  This year was not our year.  The team was very young.  We started 8 Freshmen and Sophomores on a Varsity team.  Still, we made it to the 3rd round in the post season, losing the Quarter Final match on a spectacular goal late in the match.  We return all but two players this year and have picked up some new ones that should help us.  Our main opponents were heavily senior laden, so my hopes are high for this year.

3.  Make it to the Final Four in Club Soccer.  I had high hopes for both club teams after try outs in June.  Then the bottom started to fall away for the older team.  Three players dropped before team camp even started and two more were injured.  What had been a solid roster of 17 now dwindled to 12.  So we limped through our state league play, finishing high enough to qualify for the tournament, an underdog in the standings.

But one thing people didn’t really take note of was our goal differential.  It was 0.  We had scored as many goals as we had allowed.  And, we had allowed the 2nd fewest in the league.  We had a strong defense.  We picked up two new players late in the season and the injured players returned just before the tournament started.  When it was all said and done, we lost the semi final 3-2 in a hard-fought match that included a highly questionable non-call that should have resulted in a PK for us.  Regardless of that, I was proud of the boys for living through a tough season and to come on so strong at the end.

The younger team started much stronger.  Coming in 2nd in a highly competitive tournament at the 3rd week of the year, it looked as though we had turned the corner from a rocky opening season tournament.  But that victory cost us a starting striker, his nose broken along with a concussion from a collision on the field.  We did fairly well during the state league, but the younger boys had a problem finishing an opponent.  We would get out in front and seem to settle in, taking our foot off their throat.  That allowed other teams to feel as though they could change the momentum and come back strong.  We snatched 2 ties from the jaws of victory and lost 1 by letting an opponent get back into the match.  The expectations never materialized for us in the State Tournament and we failed to make the Final Four.  But, spirits were pretty high nonetheless and everyone left the season excited and talking about next year.

4.  Run a Half Marathon.  This is not one I attained.  The travel and timing didn’t work out for the one I really wanted to run in Florida in March.  Then I set my sights on one in Alabama in April but had to sit out due to an injury.  Push came to shove, life got in the way and it just didn’t happen for me this year.  Still, I have one in mind, again in Florida in March, for 2014.

5.  Post regularly on the blog.  I was doing really well there for a while, but fell off when school started up again in the fall.  Overwhelmed with activities, my down time was spent sleeping or vegging.  I rarely even turned on my computer at home, let alone think to take the time to write a post.

6.  Spend more time with the kids…all of them.  I did accomplish this to an extent.  All of the boys lived at home at some point in 2013.  There was even a short time when all 3 were here at the same time.  But, all now out of high school, they have relocated to Auburn.  One attends the university there while the other two are working and applying for admission to the fall semester 2014.  My daughter was available whenever I wanted to see her.  Ex#3 has become much more reasonable in her outlook on life and Kid#4 spent some good time with her daddy.  Not as much as I would have liked, but about as much as my schedule allowed.  Ex#3 is not yet willing to let me drag my daughter to fields for matches or tournaments.  But, she did bring her to a few matches last year so my daughter could see me in action and come running across the field when the match ended.  That was nice.

7.  Get my financial house back in order.  I made some really good strides there.  It takes a while to get things back together after a relationship splits and mine split at a really bad time.  Kids finishing high school, moving on to college or work, needing more support than just living at home, etc.  It was tough, but I’ve come through the last few years without taking on too much debt and am now feeling secure and on firm ground.  It was also a lesson in the importance of saving/holding back money every month.  The boys got to see how holding back something every month leads to steady growth and stability.  While I personally believe the levels of consumerism necessary to maintain our economy at the levels business wants is ultimately unsustainable, I was able to contribute to our economy quite comfortably this past year while building a solid, and liquid, foundation.

8.  Get out and meet more people.  Partially successful here.  Overall, I have expanded my circle of friends, but have already taken steps to expand it even further.  I’ve joined a few groups that I share interests in and am getting out to places that have nothing to do with soccer and a little to do with running.  I’m hopeful that the running group will help me focus on and achieve the running goals for the year, so that one serves a double purpose.

So…looks like for the year I hit .500.  Pretty damn spectacular if I were a baseball player.  And respectable for just a normal person.  I’m satisfied with the progress I made and the outlook for the future.  Ever optimistic, I’m excited to set new goals for the coming year:

1.  Run 1000 miles.
2.  Win a State High School Soccer Championship
3.  Make it to the Final Four with my younger team in Club Soccer
4.  Run a Half Marathon.  Post at least weekly
6.  Spend more time with my daughter
7.  Develop more varied relationships
8.  Continue on the financial plan I have been following

All reasonable goals.  All attainable with some work.  Not all completely in my control, but all within my influence.  And that’s the way I like to set goals.  I give myself some that are relatively easy if I simply commit the time and effort to them.  I give myself some that require the motivating and cooperation of others.  And I give myself some that are deeper and more personal than a simple number.  I look forward to 2014 with great anticipation.  And you?  your 2013?  So…How Did it Go…?

6 comments on “So…How Did it Go…?

  1. refined randomness
    December 28, 2013

    Your goals are easily attainable. Good for you ! …as for a new 2014, Id like to see at the least half of what you got going… Now, if I could just get back into shape to even run a quarter of a half of marathon….Id be one happy gal !! ha ha

    • Chuck
      December 28, 2013

      You gotta step outside and put one foot in front of the other. You never know where it may lead. 🙂

  2. runner1313
    December 28, 2013

    Sounds like great goals for next year. I hit my goals, and have yet to solidify new ones, other than qualifying for Boston Marathon. We’ll see how that goes.

    • Chuck
      December 28, 2013

      Good luck on that one!! Maybe in 2015 for me. LOL Have a great new year.

  3. Barbara
    December 28, 2013

    You have wonderful goals that are within reach. After my divorce last year, I rediscovered running. I used to run track in high school and it feels great to go running. I am still a long way from a marathon but maybe this year I’ll make it happen.

    • Chuck
      December 28, 2013

      Good for you! Hopefully you’ll find yourself out in front of of the pack soon! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2013 by in Ex#3, Family, Friends, Happiness, Kids, Life, Running, Soccer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
