What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

I’ll Believe in You

cake-600Having a degree in Humanities, I spent a lot of time reading what many people consider “useless literature.” My counter has always been that there are many lessons to be learned from the writings of others.  To that point, why do we write and read blogs if not to inspire or be inspired?  Why do we share our thoughts, our feelings, our stories and our beliefs with the anonymous masses if not hoping that someone would find and assign some meaning to them?

In Chapter 7 of  the book, Through the Looking Glass (And What Alice Found There), by Lewis Carroll, Alice witnesses a fight between a lion and a unicorn.  During a lull in the action, the unicorn is surprised to see Alice:

What — is — this?’ he said at last.

`This is a child!’ Haigha replied eagerly, coming in front of Alice to introduce her, and spreading out both his hands towards her in an Anglo-Saxon attitude. `We only found it to-day. It’s as large as life, and twice as natural!’

`I always thought they were fabulous monsters!’ said the Unicorn. `Is at alive?’

`It can talk,’ said Haigha, solemnly.

The Unicorn looked dreamily at Alice, and said `Talk, child.’

Alice could not help her lips curing up into a smile as she began: `Do you know, I always thought Unicorns were fabulous monsters, too! I never saw one alive before!’

`Well, now that we have seen each other,’ said the Unicorn, `if you’ll believe in me, I’ll believe in you. Is that a bargain?’

Hardly “useless literature.”  That simple phrase, “…I’ll believe in you” has always stuck with me over the years.  As a teacher and a coach, I have often found that simply “believing” in a student or a player can make an incredible difference in their performance and their life.  People, not just young people, seem to have an innate need for the acknowledgement of others.  We desire for our accomplishments to be known.  We want our achievements to be recognized.  We crave the validation of others.  Without it, we can sink into despair and distress.

I could go on, writing more on this, discussing the issue of mutual respect and regard, but I sense you can already surmise much of what I would say.  All I really wanted to do was put the idea in your head that you hold an immense power to influence people with a simple act.  So instead of waxing poetic about it, today I challenge you to influence someone’s life.  Tell someone, a child, a spouse, a significant other…that you believe in them.  Go ahead, you can do it…I’ll Believe in You.

4 comments on “I’ll Believe in You

  1. poesravenlady
    December 27, 2013

    It is comforting to know that you are in a position to positively influence some of America’s youth… they will be better people for having known you. And btw… I believe!

    • Chuck
      December 27, 2013

      LOL…well, thank you. 🙂

      And I’m glad you believe!

  2. refined randomness
    December 28, 2013

    Nice to see you back to blogging. Really like your sentiment here. Its so true !!! I believe too 😉

    • Chuck
      December 28, 2013

      Thanks! We need more believers in the world.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2013 by in Friends, Happiness, I Believe, Life, Philosophy, Sports and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
