What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Merry Christmas 2013

It has been a long time since my last post.  Life has intervened and I’ve been living it.  Between then and now quite a lot has happened and I’ll get to some of it in near future posts.  Tonight I thought I’d make a short “comeback” post and talk about something important to me…family.

photo(8)Today, December 25, 2013, was a very special day for me for one very simple reason.  I got to spend time with each of my four kids today.  While I had been in KY with Kid#4 visiting my mother, brother and his family last week, I took her back to her mother’s yesterday.  This morning, I spent “Santa time” with her, arriving at her mother’s around 6:30 to watch her open her presents, play with some of them and watch her favorite Christmas video, Dr. Seuss’s “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” (the old timey animated version, not the newer live action).

When I got home, Kid#3, who came back home for a while when I was in KY, was asleep on the sofa, having played our new XboxOne well into the night.  A few hours later, Kids#2 and #1 showed up and the four of us sat around talking, watching a soccer match on TV, playing games and having a grand ole time.  After a semi-traditional Christmas dinner, they opened gifts, we took a family photo and off they all went to visit friends in the area.  #2 and #1 will head back to their home tonight and #3 will return here for a few more days.

xmas2013It was a rare day in my life that I got to spend it with all four Kids.  I enjoyed the time immensely and we all laughed and had great fun.  What was nice about the boys being here was that they had each expressed a desire, on their own, to come visit.  I remember well my younger days, when I was first out fending for myself in the world.  Despite all of attempts at being grown up and all my effort at being “an independent man”, I still had a desire to be with family on Christmas day.  I simply wanted to “be home.”  As an Army Brat, home has never been a specific place, rather it was wherever my family was.  And this holiday, I was able to spend time with my mother, brother and his family, as well as my sons, daughter and my family.  Would that it could have been all at once.  I hope to make that happen soon.

All in all, I could not have asked for a more perfect day.  My daughter in the morning, my sons this afternoon into this evening.  Laughter, fun, and, most importantly, family.  Yes, we ate.  Yes, we watched sports.  Yes, we played games.  But tonight, I go to sleep tonight with my sense of family restored and rejuvenated.  I hope you found time this holiday season to spend with your family.  I hope that you, like I, had a very Merry Christmas 2013.

2 comments on “Merry Christmas 2013

  1. poesravenlady
    December 26, 2013

    Looks like you had a truly amazing Christmas… so very happy for you! Merry Christmas 🙂

    • Chuck
      December 26, 2013

      I did, thanks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 25, 2013 by in Family, Happiness, Kid#1, Kid#2, Kid#3, Kid#4, Kids, Life and tagged , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
