What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Time Away

balanceAlmost one year ago to the day, I wrote a post titled “Unplug.”  It talked about my need to get away and to unplug from my world for a while.  Again, this year, I’ve been unplugged for about a week.  I have learned over the years to strive find the right Balance between Work and Life.  And one of the best ways for me to do so is to take Time Away from most things electronic.

Once again, this year I’ve taken some time for just myself.  This time around I didn’t go anywhere or do anything.  I took a “Staycation” and hung out around town, running some errands, sleeping late, being lazy, and doing a few things I’ve been meaning to do but just haven’t had the time.  I did keep up with my running, running 4 of the last 5 days.  And, of course, I’ll run tomorrow, hitting my 5 out of 7 day routine.

Monday, I hit the ground running, both literally and figuratively.  It’s not only the day I go back to work, but Team Camp starts Monday.  The boys will be out sweating and working and running and playing as we prep for the upcoming season.  Two teams this Fall.  One made up of Seniors and one of Freshman.  The older boys are looking to finish out their club playing days on an “up note” as none of them are looking to play in college.  The younger group wants to work hard and be ready to compete for spots on their high school teams in the Spring.

I always love this time of year.  Everything is so fresh.  The expectations are high.  The promise of a new season has everyone excited.  That excitement often extends to work ethic.  We open play in three weeks.  I’ll post some match recaps here and there along with my other random thoughts.  The running routine will suffer some, but I have a plan that will allow me to get at least four days a week in.  Whether or not I’ll be able to pull it off remains to be seen.

The excitement is there.  The enthusiasm is palpable.  There is a sense of exhilaration.  And it’s all made possible for me by taking some Time Away.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2013 by in Happiness, Life, Philosophy, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
