What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Sweet Georgia Peach

peachSummer time. Even better, summer time in the South. The scents, the smells, the foods. And, what could be a better southern summer time food than the Sweet Georgia Peach?

Brought to Georgia from Florida by Franciscan monks in the 1570’s, these wondrously sweet fruits have been pleasing palates ever since. Originally planted on St. Simons and Cumberland Islands, it has become an “official” Georgia crop. Please, take the time to read more about these gems at Sweet Georgia Peaches. I for one, will take the time to eat another while you read about them. And, if you’d care to listen, here’s a link to one of my favorite food oriented folk songs. Called “Peaches and Cream” it was performed by a group called The Domestic Science Club, a wonderful trio of harmonizing women from Texas.

Every summer growing up, we had more Georgia peaches in the house than we could count. I ate them throughout the day. A sweet, succulent breakfast, a quick snack on the go at mid day and part of a tasty dessert at night, the Georgia peach is truly versatile. My mother would make peach preserves, peach cobbler, peach pie, and when she was done with all of that, she would can what was left so we could have our Georgia peaches the rest of the year. We had jars upon jars stored on our shelves. By the time we got to Spring, we would be in short supply.

Today I stock up on just a few at a time, never buying more than I can eat in 2-3 days, not the baskets full I grew up with. I’m not one to take the time to preserve fruits and I simply prefer them sliced, pitted and consumed. I have been known to cut them into pieces and put into a bowl with some whipped cream on top. Of all the fruits I eat, peaches are by far my favorite. Nothing goes down smoother. Nothing tastes to me as sweet. I love biting into the flesh of a ripe Georgia peach and feeling that trickle of juice dribble down my chin. When I come in after a run on a hot summer day, nothing refreshes me faster than my Sweet Georgia Peach.

 

5 comments on “Sweet Georgia Peach

  1. poesravenlady
    July 27, 2013

    Raw is the only way I can eat a peach. Anything peach “flavored” just doesn’t taste the same to me. I even turn my nose up at peach cobbler, ice cream, and most especially, peach drinks. Don’t judge me!! Seriously, I enjoyed this post. I can almost hear the screen door slamming as you come in from your run. 🙂

    • Chuck
      July 28, 2013

      That’s normally how I eat them. That photo in the post was taken minutes before I devoured that peach. Haha. But oh how I love peach cobbler and peach preserves. Still, nothing beats taking a bite out of a fresh, ripe Georgia Peach. 🙂

      • poesravenlady
        July 28, 2013

        To me, and forgive me, cooked peaches smell like sweaty socks. Probably why I can’t stand peach cobbler and I’m a Southern girl…. blasphemy!!

      • Chuck
        July 28, 2013

        Haha!! That’s funny. Never thought about that way. And I’ve certainly got my share of sweaty socks around here.

      • poesravenlady
        July 28, 2013

        🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2013 by in A Southern Perspective, Family, Food, Life, Running and tagged , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
