What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Bluetooth and 10 Miles

bluetoothSunday was a great day to run here.  It had rained a bit in the morning and brought the temps down.  The humidity, even though it had rained, was pretty low given the cool temps.  The course is one I use for longer runs and is shaded.  And, the day before, I had bought a new Bluetooth headset so I was anxious to try it out.  (Ladies…hint here…get a man just about anything Bluetooth and he’ll be in “Geek Heaven” for at least two days.)

I’ve been having “issues” with my earbuds.  I’ve tried several different sets over the last few months.  iPhone Earpods, iPhone Earbuds, Yurbuds, Skullcandy…none of them were working for me.  Besides finding a pair that “fit” comfortably, there was the issue of the wire that connected them to my phone.   Android or iPhone, it didn’t matter.  It really came down to the wire connecting my phone to my ears.

After I realized that, it didn’t take me long to search out a Bluetooth headset.  The phone I use when i run is a Motorola and I’ve been very happy with it.  So I looked at Motorola headsets.  What I found was the S11-HD.  At first the sales clerk wasn’t all that sure.  I asked him if there was a “Tech Geek” I could talk to and he laughed, telling me he’d be right back.  A few minutes later, the Tech Geek showed up smiling and asking how he could help.  When I told him I was looking for a Bluetooth headset to use while running, he immediately pulled three different sets off the shelf.  We talked about the pros/cons of each and I settled on the S11-HD.

After I got it home and charged it overnight, I was ready to put it to use.  What better test than a long run?  When the rain cleared and the temps dropped, I decided it was time to take advantage of the conditions.  I synced my new headset before leaving to make sure I knew how it worked and headed out.

The headset fit fairly well.  It came with different size earbuds, so I was able to find a pair that fit snuggly.  It wraps around the back of my head and I used the additional strap to help size the set to my head.  The sound quality was great.  The controls for volume, skip track and EQ adjustments for Bass and Treble are easy to locate and use.  There are dual mics for phone calls and they offer surprisingly good sound on the receiving end.  (I made a test phone call.)  It is lightweight, comfortable and stayed in place the entire run.  I ran just over 10 miles in 95 minutes.  It was very nice not to have a cord flopping around under my chin, wrapped around my phone, pulling at my earbuds while I ran.

The run itself was smooth and easy.  My overall pace was about 9:19 per mile over the course of the run.  There were so many people out today, both on foot and on bike.  Some were walking, some were running, some were jogging.  Others had their dogs and a few were just ambling around the Greenway.  I felt like I could have gone on another hour or more, but I had commitments in the afternoon I had to get to.  I love runs like this…when I feel like I could go on and on and on.  They don’t happen every time I’m out, but they are happening with more and more frequency.  I’ve grown to anticipate that feeling and welcome it when it comes.  The “Runner’s High” that everyone has heard of.  Today, it came to me with Bluetooth and 10 Miles.

2 comments on “Bluetooth and 10 Miles

  1. sfoxwriting
    July 8, 2013

    Hey! I really enjoyed reading this post , ive decided to like it and ill be checking in every once in a while to see your new posts so I have started following you to ! I hope you achieve all you wish for on your blog.
    Please check out my blog and my latest post http://sfoxwriting.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/andy-murray-wins-wimbledon/ all the best 🙂 steven

    • Chuck
      July 8, 2013

      Thanks for stopping by. Really liked your latest as well. Good match review.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2013 by in Happiness, Life, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
