What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Running on a Rainy Day

runningintherainIt is SOOOOOOOOOOOO nice to be back home. While I enjoy travel and I enjoy wild and exciting adventures, it is really nice to be back home, running on the “home course.” When I woke up Saturday morning, it was raining. A slow, but steady rain. Then, it picked up. Then, it slowed again. I had plenty of laundry and some household chores to do, but eventually it was all done and it was still raining.

There are some days when it’s raining and I can’t wait to get out in the rain. I relish the conditions and soak it up (pun intended). Other days, I am not really all that interested and wait, wait, wait for it to stop. Today was neither, I knew I was going to run regardless, but I wasn’t motivated to get out into the rain. When it was time to go, I donned the shorts, shirt, and shoes, grabbed my phone, stuffing it into a ziplock bag, and headed out the door.

My last run was Wednesday, due to schedules and travel, so this was a day I really needed to get out. The rain slowed a bit as I started and I eased into the first half mile. As I picked up the pace, the rain picked up as well. That didn’t last too long and I simply put it on auto pilot. The rain eased off but never quit completely.

The run itself was therapeutic. I let the rain wash away all the stress that had built up over the last few days. I let the run chase away all the issues that were knocking on my door. I wasn’t shooting for a specific pace. I wasn’t concerned with a specific distance. I wasn’t focused on a specific time. I just ran in the rain until I was done.

I stopped after an hour and stretched. 6.6 miles. I felt good. I felt refreshed. I felt cleansed. I stood there, face held up to the rain, arms outstretched, like Tim Robbins in The Shawshank Redemption, and let the rain simply fall on me. Sometimes, Running on a Rainy Day just happens to be the best thing I can do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2013 by in Happiness, Life, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
