What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Making New Friends on the Run

hey_thereWe’ve been experiencing more than our share of rain lately.  Of course all that rain brings many advantages.  The grass is greener.  The flowers are fuller.  The trees are going through a growth spurt.  The temps are down, which here, is very nice.  Today’s run was in a nicely cool 82°F afternoon.  A very pleasant change from the upper 90’s to low 100’s we are normally experiencing this time of year.

Today’s run was one of those I have every now and then where I felt like I could have run forever.  My pace was steady.  My breathing was even.  My legs felt strong.  The route is the same one I take on most days.  It’s a simple loop that is just over a mile.  70 minutes, 7.6 miles.

The cooler than expected weather has also brought out more people running, walking, playing at the park.  I recognize several of the “regulars” running the loop.  Some run the opposite direction that I do, others run the same direction.  Most, when done, simply load up and drive off.  Today, when my run was over, I noticed a man sitting in his car that I see almost every time I’m out there.

He runs a slightly different route than I do, but we do pass each other several times on our runs.  So today, I thought, what the hell, I’ll introduce myself.  John and I spent the next 25 minutes talking about our jobs, some of the other places we run, cars, hobbies, and a wide variety of other topics.  It was nice to put some detail on one of the faces I see so often.  I’ve met plenty of people over the years and I always enjoy Making New Friends on the Run.

5 comments on “Making New Friends on the Run

  1. C. P.
    June 24, 2013

    Nice! I always waves to other in my way!

    • Chuck
      June 24, 2013

      Sure. And John and I wave at each other all the time. I figured it was time to say “hey.” LOL

  2. runningtoherdreams
    June 25, 2013

    Oh my heavens your run sounds like just what I am craving, well done!
    On another note,I have nominated you for the “Shine On Blogger Award” should you chose to accept this award, which I hope you do, but if not that’s okay too! Check out my post! http://followyourheartandlifewillfollow.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/shine-on-blogger-award/ Happy blogging! 🙂

    • Chuck
      June 25, 2013

      I’m flattered! Thank you. And of course I’ll accept. I’m glad you enjoy the blog. I certainly do enjoy yours. Give me a few days to cobble together an appropriate post and I’ll get it done.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2013 by in Friends, Happiness, Life, Running and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
