What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Busting Through the Wall

wall_bustFinally.  I was stuck on 4.5 miles for the last couple of runs.  For whatever reason, I couldn’t push past 4.5 miles.  I would get to 4.5 miles and give out.  What the heck was going on?  I couldn’t figure it out.  It was only 3 runs, but seriously…what’s up with that?

But I didn’t push it.  I didn’t  over do it.  I listened to my body.  I held off.  I backed away.  I decided there are the occasional oddities in life.  For whatever reason, 4.5 miles was all I was going to get in.

This afternoon looked sketchy.  The weather was threatening.  I can, and have, run in the rain.  But thunderstorms are different.  I was resigned to a treadmill run this afternoon.  The storm came through around 4:00 this afternoon, lasted about 20 minutes and blew off to the north.  It actually didn’t rain that much, but it sure cooled things down.  The temps dropped from low 90’s to high 70’s.  The humidity was a little thick, but with the temps that low and the storm gone, I decided to hit the asphalt.

What a great decision that was!  A great run today.  I could tell after the 2nd mile that today’s run would bust through the 4.5 mile wall I’d been hitting lately.  The legs were good.  The breathing easy.  The muscles warmed up and I actually made myself stop after an hour.  7 miles of “feel good” effort.  Everything fell into place today and I felt great when I was done.

Hopefully, that 4.5 mile wall is destroyed.  Hopefully, I won’t have to deal with it again.  I do have shorter runs every now and then but I want them to be planned, not imposed.  Hopefully today put me back where I want to be.  Today, it was all about Busting Through the Wall.

3 comments on “Busting Through the Wall

  1. runningtoherdreams
    June 17, 2013

    Awesome! I love “the busting through the wall days” 🙂

    • Chuck
      June 17, 2013

      yeah…me too! fortunately, there aren’t too man of them! lol

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in Life, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
