What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Intermitent, but Persistent

Endless-persistenceThe last few weeks haven’t been what I was hoping for.  Soccer, life, and injury intervened and I just haven’t been able to keep up the schedule I had planned.  14 weeks ago I set out to train to run a Half 2 weeks ago.  But that just didn’t happen.  Still, I’m running when I can and am setting my sights on June.  There are several nearby that look promising and it gives me time to run consistently after the spring Soccer season ends in mid May.

My running has always been a secondary focus to soccer.  As a coach, I have teams every fall and spring.  The commitment to those teams takes up a most of my weekday afternoon/evenings for training and weekends for matches.  Fall teams train/play August-December and the spring team starts training in January while finishing their season in mid May.  While it keeps me busy, it also keeps me off the road for the most part.  I knew trying to train for and run a Half during the spring season was a stretch, but I know others that can do it, so I thought nothing ventured, nothing gained.

It was ambitious, yes, but I have enjoyed the effort.  Yesterday I was able to venture outside on a nice spring day and put in an hour’s run at an overall pace of 9:05 per mile.  I felt great when I was done.  Like many of you that run, (ok, “jog” for the purists out there) I love the feelings resulting from a run like that.  I felt so energized and vibrant the rest of the day.  I love the way my body reacts to physical activity and it is one of the many reasons I’ve been active at something my entire life.  The activity has varied over time, but I have always been doing something to keep myself moving.

So now I have conceded my schedule to the season and will try to get at least 3 runs in a week, down from the original 5.  This will allow me to keep up a good base as the soccer season closes (we are 8-2-2 as of now) and I won’t beat myself up when I miss a run due to soccer.  We have matches this week on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.  Not the average week, by any means, but certainly a busy one.  We will average three matches a week through April so getting in 3 runs a week is a reasonable goal.  When the season ends the 2nd weekend in May, I’ll be able to return to a 5 run a week schedule and should be ready for a Half in mid-late June.  I will get where I want to be, it is simply going to take a bit longer than I had originally planned.

So for now, I’ll have to be content with my training being intermittent, but persistent.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2013 by in Life, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
