What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Keeping on Keeping On

hr-rate chartWhew…what a time I’ve had.  Life has kept me so busy!  Today has me home for a while due to Kid#4’s school being closed and the sitter not available until noon.  So, with some time on my hands, I thought I’d try to work on a post in between reading stories, playing with Legos and watching tv.

The training plan is moving right along.  I’ve run into some anticipated roadblocks here and there, but I am staying with the schedule as much as possible.  Three mid-week runs varying between 40-60 minutes each.  Two longer weekend runs, with Sunday being the longer of the two.  Yesterday I went 10 miles.  I slowed down just to make sure I’d be able to finish without stopping/walking, etc.  I know that for many of you, 10 miles is nothing, but for me, it is a new milestone.  While I’ve run that distance many times before, it has been over 12 years since I’ve run that far.  The interruptions in the mid-week runs have made those catch as catch can and some weeks are better than others.  And, of course, the weekends I have Kid#4, I don’t run at all.  Overall, though, I’m happy with my progress and am feeling good about being able to complete the Half I have on my calendar in late March.

One thing I added to my routine is a heart rate monitor.  I used to use one a long time ago and saw a Polar RS100 on sale for $50 last week.  It’s been interesting to use.  I am supposed to train at a target heart rate of 60%-85% of my max.  According to the calculations, that puts my max at 167 bpm and my target range at 100-142 bpm.  What made it an eye opener for me was that I was running quite comfortably at a pace of 8:45-9:00 per mile on the mid-week runs.  I was not having any problems breathing, my legs felt fine, my heart was not pounding in my chest, etc.  Slap on the monitor and I see that at that pace, my heart was beating at 157 bpm.  Oops…So, I’ve slowed down.  Right now, to keep my heart rate in the “zone” I’m supposed to train in, I’ve had to slow my pace to 9:30 or slower.

Ok, so now I’m running slower…much slower than I want to be, but I’m going to trust the science.  Theoretically, as my running progresses, my heart will be able to handle the load better and the rate should come down at a given pace.  So now I’m working on running the appropriate distances and staying within the 65%-85% zone.  It is taking some effort to adjust, but I’m getting there.  It also means that I may well miss my target time for my Half.  I’d like to be able to finish it in under 2 hours.  I don’t know that I have enough time between now and then to get my heart rate/pace at the appropriate levels, but I’m not too worried about that.  I’ll do my best to do it right and just keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Life, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
