What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

A Time for Everyone

IMG_3077The other day, I wrote Time for Family.   In that post, I talked about taking the time out to be with family members over the holidays.  It is something I have always done and hoped to instill in my children.  The idea that, regardless of what happens to us in life, there is truly no one more important, more supportive, more meaningful than family.  I was off to KY to visit my mother and brother when I wrote that, with Kid#4 in tow, the rest at their various locations.  I was looking forward to returning Christmas eve and having, hopefully, 3 of the 4 with me on Christmas day, at least for a few hours.

It has been a rough couple of years for us.  Kid#2 and Kid#3 have been at odds lately over, what else…a girl.  Kid#1 has had quite the journey (see Kid#1, Part 2).  Kid#4, in addition to some health issues, is forced to live with Ex#3.  While life’s lessons can be hard sometimes, they were making their way, learning as they went and for the most part, fairly happy in life.

Christmas Eve afternoon, I got a call from Kid#1.  Yes, he was indeed working Christmas day, but had decided it was important to be with family and would be home around 7:00 p.m. Christmas night.  When Kid#2 came over Christmas day, I told him his older brother was coming later that night.  He smiled, laughed and said he had a few people he wanted to see that afternoon, but would definitely come back to see his brother.

This is the first time in 3 years that all of us have been together in the same place at the same time.  It only lasted a few hours, but it was great fun.  It gave me a warm feeling to know that my boys had taken to heart the importance of family.  They were able to put aside their differences, adapt to their work schedules, and realize how important it was to make the evening happen.  We sat, we ate, we told stories and we were a family.  Ours truly was a merry Christmas and a time for everyone.

2 comments on “A Time for Everyone

  1. cloudoflace
    December 31, 2012

    You have handsome “kids” 🙂
    Happy New Year to you & all your loved ones!

    Best,
    Hiba
    http://www.cloudoflace.com

    • Chuck
      January 1, 2013

      Thanks. And I wish you a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2012 by in Family, Happiness, Kid#1, Kid#2, Kid#3, Kid#4, Life and tagged , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
