What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Taking a Shortcut to Pineapple-Mango Mahi-Mahi

There are times when I want a good, decent meal, but don’t have the time to make it all from scratch.  I’ve been in the middle of a complicated relocation, moving myself and two of my sons to three different places basically in the span of a week and a half.  The result has been meals mostly either eaten out or taken out of the microwave.  The other night, however, was a tad bit different.

I can only eat so many meals out of the three portioned tray, if you know what I mean.  But, there are times when they are a convenient necessity.  I’ve had a yearning for fish lately but just haven’t had the time to cook up something like the Halibut with fresh tomato sauce I did a while back.  Still, there had to be a way to get my fix.  There had to be a short cut.

The grocery store near my new place has a nice assortment of fresh and frozen fish.  I’ve never really paid much attention to the bags of frozen filets though thinking that if I’m going to have to thaw it before prepping it, I’d just as soon buy fresh.  But this store also has a small selection of pre-marinated, vacuum packed fish.  Ah…I thought, this could be an option.  Packaged in boxes of 2, 5 oz filets, Morey’s Fish Creations was tempting enough for me to pick up and give a try.  Having a desire for mahi-mahi, I grabbed their Pineapple-Mango and put it in the cart.

I had high hopes for this and couldn’t wait to give it a try.  Unfortunately, it sat in my freezer a few days before I was able to fish it out.  (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)  I was not disappointed.  I’m not one to suggest that you run out and buy a product, but I must say, this was tasty.  The marinade was a bit thick, but the fish itself was pretty good.  Obviously not fresh, but better than most frozen fish products I’ve been forced to endure.

I added some wild rice, also conveniently from a box, Uncle Ben’s this time, and some fresh snow peas which I stir fried in fresh garlic and thyme.  So, a quick easy meal that satisfied an urge.  Morey’s has a few more choices that I may try in the future, but I still prefer my fish fresh.  Given that I’m going to be home alone these days, the cost of feeding my household a fresh fish dinner will come down dramatically.  And, since the new marketplace nearby has a decent selection, I can drop in, buy a cut on Saturday, marinade it overnight and put it on my plate for Sunday supper.  Not a bad idea now that I think about it.  Some short cuts lead to some pretty nice places.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2012 by in Family, Food, Happiness, Life and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
