What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

A Place to Hang My Boots

The great unpacking continues.  Not quite done yet, but close.  What’s been keeping me from finishing up is Kid#1.  He’s headed off to Auburn later today for orientation, but he’s staying down there, basically moving into his apartment this weekend.  I’m going to the parent’s orientation so will be down there a few days as well.  This weekend, I’ll haul his bed, dresser and a few other things he wants and he’ll be out…again.

That will leave me with the proverbial empty nest.  My two younger sons are sharing a place about 20 minutes from here and I gave them some furniture for it last week.  I will still get Kid#4 on weekends and such, but for all intents and purposes, I’ll be living on my own after all these years.  It should be interesting for however long it lasts.

After Kid#1 vacates his room, that will give me the space to spread the rest of “my stuff” out where I want it.  I will set up Kid#4’s room.  She didn’t have one of her own at the other apartment so this will be new for her.  She just turned 5 yesterday and is off on vacation with her mother, visiting grand parents, aunts, uncles, cousins, etc.  She’ll be back in a few weeks.  I took her to a furniture store recently and she went nuts over all the “princess” bed sets.  The princess culture has really taken hold with little girls lately and she has swallowed it hook, line and sinker.  She’ll not be getting a princess theme bedroom here, have no fear, but she will have her own, defined space with her own bed, dresser, etc.

I’ve had many opportunities throughout my life to re-define my life.  One of the more significant came when I left Texas (and Ex#2) and moved to NC.  I even semi changed careers at that point, moving out of the central office administration back into a classroom environment.  This time is not so much a re-definition as it is a new phase.  And, the place I’m in is transitional.  I do not expect to be here, in this apartment, for very long.  I do not like apartment living, I tolerate it.  But I will make the most out of it, enjoy it and be on the lookout for a permanent setting better suited for my new phase.  I will be so busy with my fall schedule anyway, that all I really need this year is a place to hang my boots.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2012 by in Ex#2, Ex#3, Family, Kids, Life, Soccer, Sports and tagged , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
