What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

He’s Done

Kid#3 is officially done with high school.  He graduated last night in what was actually a fairly decent graduation ceremony.  The speakers had their say and kept it short, sweet and appropriate.  The principal wasn’t too full of himself and the dignitaries on the stage simply sat, letting their presence be their statement.  The family and friends gathered to celebrate were asked to hold applause and refrain from the hoots, hollers and shouts that so often end up ruining the occasion and for the most part, they obliged.

This is the last of my natural born children to graduate.  There was some doubt for a while, everything hinging on a test score at the end of the semester, but he pulled it out and walked across the stage.  As he closes a chapter in his life, he now has to figure out just what he wants to do.  Having turned down athletic offers to attend college, he is looking forward to being, in his words, a “normal person.”  Part of that means paying for college, paying for books, and paying for all sorts of things.  I have no doubt he’s up to the challenge.  I also have no doubt it will be a very, very interesting ride.

Still, my hat is off to him.  Dylan, my youngest son, now officially, enters adulthood.  I wish him well and will be there to point the way if he needs it.

11 comments on “He’s Done

  1. bipolarmuse
    May 24, 2012

    My daughter graduates next year… they grow fast.

    • Chuck
      May 24, 2012

      Oh yes, they do. whew. I’m too young (at heart at least) to have 3 high school graduates for sons!

      • bipolarmuse
        May 24, 2012

        I am too young to have a senior and junior this year. Blows my mind.

      • Chuck
        May 24, 2012

        yes, you ARE too young.

      • bipolarmuse
        May 24, 2012

        Ha! Indeed. I am grateful to have the 2 little ones but I remember when I had my heart set on having my 2 older ones be 18 when I turn 37. LOL… now I will be 50 when my youngest turns 18. They are all my world. ♥

      • Chuck
        May 24, 2012

        My youngest is Kid#4 and she’s about to turn 5!! what was I thinking…? LOL

      • bipolarmuse
        May 24, 2012

        Ha! Mine is 4…so I understand completely.

      • Chuck
        May 24, 2012

        but you’re not even 40 yet!!! LOL

      • bipolarmuse
        May 24, 2012

        Hey… I am getting closer to 40… LOL. And about to be single again. I better get use to the single “middle” aged life. HAHAHA

      • Chuck
        May 24, 2012

        It is all it is cracked up to be, let me assure you. Emphasis on the word “cracked”!

  2. eof737
    May 27, 2012

    Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2012 by in Family, Happiness, Kid#3, Life and tagged , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
