What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

End of Season Reboot and Oregano Chicken

So the season is over and I have time on my hands.  What to do with the time.  It’s an annual decision.  But before I come up with the answer, I always go through a week or two of complete exhaustion.  I no longer have to keep up the schedule for training and matches so my body decides it is time to shut down for a while and rejuvenate.  I end up going to sleep at 10:30 p.m. instead of 12:30 a.m.  I end up having to turn off the alarm at 5:40 a.m. when it goes off instead of at 5:30 a.m. when I wake up.  I will spend the next week or so catching up on the sleep and resetting myself, mentally and physically.  My end of season re-boot.

Of course, I also use this time to focus on my own training (see Fun on the Run post).  But even so, it takes time to focus the energy levels back where they were.  I will spend more time with Kid#4 as well.  And, this being his graduation year, I’ll spend some additional time with Kid#3.  He has many events and activities coming up and I want to be sure to be there to share and attend.  His mother, Ex#2, will be here for graduation and so I also have to set myself for her visit as well.  Hopefully, all will go well and we’ll get through it smiling to the end.

The chicken dish below is one I go back to often.   It is simple and quick, 45 minutes from opening the fridge to sitting at the table, knife and fork in hand.  You can add any number of sides to it, taking advantage of what’s available each season.  It’s become something I always cook as part of my end of season reboot.  I always use skinless chicken breasts, but it works just as well with thighs or drumsticks.  I hope you enjoy it.

Ingredients

1/2 stick melted butter
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp Soy sauce
2 tsp dried Oregano
1 tsp Garlic Powder
3 chicken breasts

How To

Preheat oven to 350°.
Combine the first six ingredients in a skillet, stirring to mix well.  Place the chicken in a pan and pour half of the mixture over the chicken.


Bake for 15 minutes and remove from the oven.  Pour the remaining mixture over the chicken and return to the oven.  Cook another 15 minutes.

If serving with rice, a common accompaniment with chicken, plate the chicken and put the pan on the stove top.  Add a bit more butter and scrape up all of the “bits” that roasted onto the pan.  Add some Chardonnay (I suggest Hess Select or Toasted Head) for volume and flavor.  Bring to a boil.  Turn down the heat and reduce to the consistency you desire.  Spoon the sauce over the rice and chicken for a tasty combination.  Add whatever veggie you like, zucchini and yellow squash come to mind, and you’re good to go.

4 comments on “End of Season Reboot and Oregano Chicken

  1. bipolarmuse
    May 9, 2012

    I am really jealous that you cook. Seriously. That looks delicious and if I attempted to cook it… it would look disastrous.

    • Chuck
      May 9, 2012

      No, if you cooked it, it would be mighty damn tasty. Take my word for it on this one. It can’t possibly get any easier. 🙂

      • bipolarmuse
        May 9, 2012

        Maybe I will give it a whirl… a girl has to eat!

      • Chuck
        May 9, 2012

        she does, t’is true. even you, must do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2012 by in A Southern Perspective, Ex#2, Family, Food, Happiness, Kid#3, Kid#4, Life, Sports and tagged , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
