What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Weather Change and Mexican Pork Chops

The weather has been unseasonably warm this year, but lately, it has turned chilly again.  At the match the other night, I was in winter training gear; long warm ups, a cold weather shirt and zippered jacket.  I was still cold.  Windy and cold, I wished I had not packed my gloves away for the season.

Be all that as it may, the last blast of chill made me decide to cook my Mexican Pork Chops for supper.  With the temps in the mid 50’s, I decided it was cool enough to handle the spices.  This one is a recipe of my own design and one of my “one skillet” suppers.  It’s relatively quick, involving little prep, a short time at the stove, and then letting it simmer for 25-30ish minutes.

Ok.  Start with center cut, boneless pork chops.  I normally sprinkle them with Chili Powder and Cumin, but tonight I made my own mix.  I mixed up some Cayenne Pepper powder, ground Cumin, Paprika and Salt.  Basically equal parts of the first three and “some” salt.  Either way, sprinkle one side of the chops.

Next, heat about 2 tbsps of olive oil in a large skillet.  Drop the chops in the heated oil and let cook for about 3 minutes.  Turn the chops over, sprinkle the reverse side with your spice mix or Chili powder and continue cooking, about another 3 minutes.

When done, remove from the chops from the skillet and place on a plate temporarily.  Brown 1 cup of rice in the olive oil for a minute or two, stirring to allow it to soak up all the oil in the skillet.

Next, add 1 16 ounce can of tomato sauce, an 8 ounce can of corn and about 1/2 of a green bell pepper, chopped.  Stir into the rice, mix together and bring to a boil.  Put the chops back into the skillet and reduce the heat to low.  Cover and simmer for about 25-30 minutes, until most of the liquid is absorbed.

When done, plate and serve.  This one is a bit spicy, so be careful if that’s a problem for you.  Or, just use the pre-mixed Chili Powder instead of mixing your own.  I have been cooking this for years and usually spice it up a bit.  Add some bread to this, a nice hard roll with butter, for example, and you should come in close to 400 calories.  Top it off with a nice Malbec to deal with the spices and you’re out for around 525.

Mighty tasty…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in A Southern Perspective, Food, Happiness, Life, Potpouri and tagged , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
