What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Backwards Supper

Supper.  That evening meal that caps off the day.  A time for family to get together, break bread, and share their day.  Some nights are tougher than others to get everything and everyone to the table.  When my boys were younger, every now and then, they would resist the call to the dinner table.  Busy playing outside, or watching a show, sometimes I had to resort to special tactics to get them to eat.

The Backwards Supper was one such tactic.  My boys LOVE dessert.  Pudding, ice cream, pie, cake, cream puffs, eclairs, custard, cookies…you name it.  If it is sweet and usually served AFTER a meal, they want it.  When I could tell they were going to be difficult to get to the table, I would often offer them the Backward Supper option.

In the Backwards Supper, you see, we started with the dessert.  They would set the table with dessert plates and forks and tall glasses of whole milk.  I’d bring out whatever the dessert of the evening was, usually a pie or cake I had made earlier that day.  Each would devour their serving and ask for more.  My response was always something along the lines of “if you eat your supper, you may have another dessert.”  I would leave the dessert on the table while the boys cleared the dessert plates. I had them put them in the kitchen, but not in the sink or dishwasher…just “out of the way” so we could eat our supper.

In this manner, I got the boys to eat all sorts of things.  And they ate it all.  The meat, the potatoes, the veggies, the bread, just about anything I put in front of them.  They had already had a taste of dessert and another serving of it was sitting right in front of them.  They also knew that if they didn’t eat their supper, there would not be a Backwards Supper night for a long, long time.  Since it was one of their favorite meals, they always made sure to eat up.

The other night, coming home late after a match, I was standing in the kitchen trying to decide what to eat.  There was a slice of chocolate pie in the fridge.  I pulled it out and put it on my plate.  Taking it to the table, Kid#1 looked up and asked, “Backwards Supper for you tonight, dad?”  We laughed and he got up and went into the kitchen.  He came to the table with a dessert fork and we shared a slice of pie.

2 comments on “Backwards Supper

  1. creativenoodling
    April 23, 2012

    The best part of this post is the good memories Kid#1 has of your brilliant tactics.

  2. bradgsmith
    April 23, 2012

    Smart Dad. We liked Breakfast supper also with eggs or pancakes or waffles.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in A Southern Perspective, Family, Food, Happiness, Kid#1, Life and tagged , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
