What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

The Late Season Push

This week has been one for the books and it isn’t over yet.  It started off well enough, spending time flying kites and shooting bubbles with Kid#4.  Monday was a two hour drive for a match, which we won.  Training Tuesday.  A well played match on Wednesday despite the loss.

Tonight, the younger boys played and did well through the first half, giving up a goal in the final 30 seconds.  A shot hit the crossbar, bounced back onto the field of play and was headed back, into the net by an unmarked striker.  The second half was more difficult as they ran out of gas, their legs getting tired.  They gave up 3 goals in the last 15 minutes.  But, it was a valiant effort against a superior side.  No shame in the loss, we were not expected to have done as well as we did.

The older boys train tomorrow.  Then Kid#3 has a match tomorrow night.  The older boys drive 2 hours north on Saturday for a match against a solid side Saturday evening.  Win/lose/draw, it will be a 2 hour ride back home that night.  Sunday we take off and I get time with Kid#4 again.

Then it begins again.  Monday match, Tuesday match, Wednesday train, Thursday both teams play, Friday we’ll take off.  Then we have Saturday, Sunday and Monday to prepare for the biggest match of the year against a team that has beaten us twice already this season.  It will be hard fought and we will be prepared.  Assuming we advance that night, we’ll have three sessions to prepare for the other team that has beaten us twice this season.  If we can get past them, we’ll have a week to train for the Final Four that begins May 11.

This is one of the many reasons I’m single.  I’ve yet to meet someone who can stand up to the rigors of a season.  Club in the fall, school in the Spring.  It occupies a lot of my time and takes me away from those I love.  The only people who didn’t have a choice in this matter are my own children.  They were born into it.  Others know all about it when they meet me.  It’s not like I hide what I do.  I love my life and what I do makes me very, very happy.  But, the late season push takes its toll in many ways.

2 comments on “The Late Season Push

  1. creativenoodling
    April 20, 2012

    Hope you find a moment for yourself to catch your breath in all the hectic craziness.

    • Chuck
      April 20, 2012

      Haha. Usually mid June-July and mid December-January. Those are my “off” seasons.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2012 by in Ex's, Happiness, Kid#3, Kid#4, Life, My Job, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
