What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Presentation

Food.  When we think of it, our minds automatically go to the flavors.  Next, they remember the smells.  But often we tend to overlook the sight of food.  It’s a shame really, because the presentation of a meal is what begins the experience for us.  We see it before we taste it.  The sight can even overwhelm the smells.  Think about it…how often do you close your eyes as you breathe in the smells of the plate before you?  We often take the sight of our plate for granted.

Yet, when we dine out, we expect our food to be “presented” on a beautifully arranged plate.  We expect it to look good as well as smell and taste good.  So, why do we not “present” our food at home?  So many meals are just tossed on the table without much thought to how it looks on the platter.  I am not a professional chef by any means, just a humble home cook, but I do try to make the meal look good before we dig in.  There are men/women in this world who are paid top dollar to make sure you are presented with such an agreeable sight when your plate is set before you that you hesitate to disturb it for fear of damaging the artistry.

My Ex’s and my Kids all smile and laugh when I put the food on the table.  But the times I tell the boys to make their own plate in the kitchen, they always ask, “Dad…what about the presentation?”  So, I present to you a few plates from my table, along with two plates from a recent visit to Sullivan University’s Winston’s Restaurant, in Louisville, KY, where students learn these sorts of things.  I’m sure you won’t have any difficulty telling the difference.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Doesn’t that make your mouth just water?  Might tasty.

5 comments on “Presentation

  1. bipolarmuse
    April 9, 2012

    I am the worst cook ever because I HATE to… so my presentation is clear when I slop it on the plate. I am screaming “I HATE TO COOK”. LOL.
    Glad to know some people enjoy it and take it to the next level. 🙂

    • Chuck
      April 9, 2012

      I love to cook and I love for it to look good. I want people drooling at the table, hands forced into their laps until everyone is seated and ready. Then, it’s almost like saying “GO!” LOL I love to watch ’em dig in and devour the food.

      I just don’t want to have to clean it up after we’re done. 😛

      • bipolarmuse
        April 9, 2012

        LOL… that is funny. I would much rather do the clean up than to cook. But I do love a good meal that looks good. My sister is getting into the “presentation” and really putting me to shame in the cooking area… but hey, I can’t force myself to like cooking. haha… not my forte. But I do enjoy to eat 🙂

      • Chuck
        April 9, 2012

        I’ve been pretty good at getting In relationships with women that don’t mind the cleaning up part. Lucky me.

      • bipolarmuse
        April 9, 2012

        haha, indeed. Lucky. I feel, since I hate to cook, anyone who wants to cook for me deserves the kindness of my cleaning skills. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2012 by in Ex's, Family, Food, Happiness, Kids, Life, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
