What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Home Again, Really, and Chicken Itza

Wow, what a week.  Two trips, back to back.  One for an Accreditation Visit, the other for a Tech Open House at Abilene Christian University in Texas.  On both trips I met some amazing people doing some amazing things.  When I got back, late due to flight cancellations, I walked right into class, and an hour later our JV team had to leave for a match that afternoon.  No time to sit and rest.  What a week it’s been!

Both trips will necessitate several posts, but I did have the opportunity to eat some Tex-Mex food.  I learned a long time ago, that regional foods are best eaten in the regions that developed them.  North Carolina BBQ, for example, just isn’t done right unless it’s done in NC.  Or, perhaps by an NC native somewhere else.  But even then something is “off”…the wood used to smoke the meat isn’t from the field behind the shed, that sort of thing.  So, being in Texas recently let me savor some flavors I haven’t had in years.  And while BBQ was one of them, today’s post is about a Tex-Mex dish called Chicken Itza.

At Desperados in Dallas, Tx they serve up the type of food you just can’t get out of state.  I know there are Mexican restaurants in most states and I know they are often run by Mexican families.  But Tex-Mex is uniquely Texan.  Having lived in Texas for 20 years and other states and places the rest of my life, I can attest to this.  Places like The Blue Goose, Desperados, and Mia’s are just don’t really exist outside the state.

At Desperados, packed tightly into its urban setting on Greenville Avenue, the food is amazingly good.  Everything on the menu is worth eating.  Their Stuffed Jalapenos are incredible.  Their margaritas are strong.  And their Chicken Itza is the best thing on the menu.  We all know that menus change and develop over time, but their Chicken Itza is still there, a long-standing dish that survives the cut year after year.

Chicken Itza

From the menu:  Marinated in an ancient sauce with rosemary and thyme, grilled and served with guacamole, rice and Mexican zucchini.  While that may describe what it is, it does not describe the experience of eating it.  Especially for someone like me, who loves Tex-Mex food and has been “without” for over 15 years.  The flavors were unique.  The chicken moist and subtle.  A table mate stole the guacamole from me, but the rice was tender and the zucchini/corn was succulent.

I am jealous of the friends I have in Texas and was thankful for the opportunity to sample the flavors I’ve missed for so many years.  But, it truly is good to be home again, really.

11 comments on “Home Again, Really, and Chicken Itza

  1. bradgsmith
    April 7, 2012

    Native Texan here and I concur you cannot get real Tex-Mex outside the Lone Star State. We are spoiled in the ways of Tex Mex for sure. Wrote about it on my other blog http://www.bigbagsofun.wordpress.com in the post called Comfort Foods. Like your blog!

    • Chuck
      April 7, 2012

      My boys are all native Texans and I love the Lone Star State. It was nice to be back in the Big D as well. Soooooooo much has changed, yet so many things have remained the same.

      Will definitely check out your blog soon. Maybe we can swap some “good food” stories. Ever been to Massey’s in Fort Worth? Don’t know if it is even there or not any more, but damn they had great Chicken Fried Steak!

      • bradgsmith
        April 7, 2012

        My friend, I played football at TCU in Fort Worth and Massey’s was a pregame ritual that I continued several times a month for years while living near Fort Worth. I think it is still there, though haven’t been back to FW in several years. Thanks for the flashback!

      • Chuck
        April 7, 2012

        Talk about a small world! I went to TCU as well. Massey’s and Ole South Pancake House were regular visits for me. ^5!!

      • bradgsmith
        April 8, 2012

        Ole South and their chili cheese omelette, which they have discontinued sadly. Went there on a quick drive through last year but not the same s back in the day. I was there 83-88. You?

      • Chuck
        April 8, 2012

        I was there in 78-79. Only attended one year, but enjoyed it immensely. Ended up graduating at UTSA.

      • bradgsmith
        April 8, 2012

        You re forgiven. Anyone who likes Massey’s & Ole South has to be allright. Take care. Sorry Ya’ll lost.

      • Chuck
        April 8, 2012

        Haha. Yeah, thanks. It happens. Hopefully we’ll bounce back soon.

    • Chuck
      April 7, 2012

      I just checked and Massey’s closed last year. What a shame. This will necessitate a post all on its own.

      http://www.star-telegram.com/2011/02/15/2852085/masseys-a-fort-worth-icon-serves.html

  2. eof737
    April 14, 2012

    You are on the road a lot… how do you unwind?

    • Chuck
      April 14, 2012

      Not so much usually. Just a lot that week. And i find many ways of unwinding. A nice glass of Cabernet is a good start.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2012 by in Food, Friends, Happiness, Life, My Job and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
