What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Chuck Luck

I am one of those people who good things just “happen to.”  It’s hard to explain, but I can pull into the parking lot at the big mall in whatever city two days before Christmas and find a parking spot near the door of the most used entrance into the mall.  It doesn’t always work out that way with everything, but more often than not, good things fall into my lap.   Ex#2 always shook her head and smiled.  Ex#3 got the full understanding when, just 3 weeks after we were “approved” to adopt, we were holding a healthy, new-born baby girl in our arms.  It has been dubbed “Chuck Luck.”

I am out of town for a few days on business.  I get to the hotel and go to check into my room.  The clerk tells me someone had been smoking in the room the night before but the hotel staff had sprayed it with something to kill the smell.  She said that if the smell was too bad, to come back down and they would take care of it.  I replied that I was sure it was fine, but thanks for the warning.

Opening the door to the room, the smell hit me square in the face.  It was horrible.  It smelled like someone had been smoking the absolute worst smelling cigars and pipe tobacco imaginable.  It was awful.  And, I used to smoke, so if I couldn’t stand it, I knew it had to be bad.

So I returned to the lobby and talked to the clerk.  She left to check on the room again and came back, telling me she would switch my room.  I waited while she checked a few things and took care of the people who had come in while she was checking on my room.  I heard her tell someone who asked for a single king bed for their room that there were no more available.  Since mine had also been a king, I thought I was in store for a room with two doubles.  “Oh well,” I thought, “I really won’t be in the room much, so it doesn’t really matter.”

When she finally got back to me, she was very apologetic for the smoke tainted room and told me they were out of the king rooms like I had.  She looked up at me, smiled and went on to say, “But you’ve been so patient and so understanding, I’m just going to upgrade you to a king suite.”

Chuck Luck strikes again.  Now…where is my lottery ticket…?

8 comments on “Chuck Luck

  1. Gabriela Vargas
    April 1, 2012

    WHOA. Jealous!

    • Chuck
      April 1, 2012

      You won’t hear me complaining!

  2. Vithya
    April 2, 2012

    Pretty darn lucky!

    You should start lending it to others 😛
    I could sure use some. Sigh

    • Chuck
      April 2, 2012

      LOL…if I could, I would!

  3. eof737
    April 14, 2012

    Good for you to have a name that rhymes with luck… 🙂

    • Chuck
      April 14, 2012

      Haha. Yes that is helpful 🙂

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on My Girl | What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2012 by in Ex#2, Ex#3, Happiness, Kid#4, Life, My Job and tagged , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
