What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Bad Car-Ma and Marinated Pork Chops

Cars.  I have a few.  Three to be exact.  One very sweet ride, a 1968 Mercury Cougar.  Older cars require more general maintenance and I deal with it.  It has had some work done over the years, most recently on the brakes.  I went out to take it to the store the other day and after starting it up, I put my foot firmly on the brake before putting it in gear.  My foot went straight to the floor.  Checking the brake fluid, I saw that most of it was gone.  Turns out a seal had burst and the hoses were in need of replacement.  So, I had it towed to the shop, they fixed it and I’m good.

My son’s car, a 2002 Honda CRV, has been nothing but problems lately.  It blew a head gasket last month on an out-of-town trip.  $1500 and three days later, it was repaired and back at home.  It still had some other, minor work to have done, but was running well.  Until two nights ago.  Kid#3 is driving home on the freeway and the car quits on him.  Just stops running.  Fortunately it didn’t shut down everything and he still had control over the steering and braking systems.

I had the car towed home, then later, towed to the shop.  Turns out the engine seized up.  Just froze up tight.  It wasn’t low on oil as best they could tell.  The oil in it was fresh, as would be the case after the head gasket repair.  But, it was leaking oil on the ground.  There was no oil on the pavement where I had it parked here.  None.  I checked after they told me that.  While they are going to try to figure out what went wrong, the fact of the matter is it needs a replacement engine.  I will be calling the out-of-town shop that did the work, but I’m not holding out much hope.  Unless the shop here can find pretty solid evidence of something gone wrong with the work.

So what to do when the bad “car-ma” strikes?  Hell, why not cook supper.  Tonight, our main dish was Marinated Pork Chops.  Another quick and easy meal.  I used boneless, center cut pork chops.  Some of the comments on the site where I got the recipe said there was not enough sauce to cover 6 chops.  Reading that, I brushed on the sauce rather than poured.  It was a more than adequate amount.  I shortened the cooking time to around 30 total minutes of baking and broiled for three more to “glaze” the chops.

Turned out to be pretty tasty.  Rice with snow peas worked really well with this.  Assuming 1/2 cup of rice, 3/4 cup of steamed snow peas, and 2 “pats” of butter for flavor and you are out under 450 calories.

 

Pork Chops

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 6 pork chops, trimmed

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a small bowl, thoroughly blend soy sauce, vegetable oil, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, brown sugar, and ketchup.
  3. Place pork chops in a medium baking dish, and spread with 1/2 the sauce.
  4. Bake pork chops 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Turn, and spread with remaining sauce. Continue baking 30 minutes, or until internal temperature of the chops has reached 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).
Nutritional Information
Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Servings Per Recipe: 6

Amount Per Serving

Calories: 241

  • Total Fat: 12.4g
  • Cholesterol: 76mg
  • Sodium: 289mg
  • Total Carbs: 6.5g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0g
  • Protein: 24.6g

(Credit where credit is due:  Click Marinated Pork Chops for the original AllRecipes.com post.)

3 comments on “Bad Car-Ma and Marinated Pork Chops

  1. Andromache Wilde
    March 25, 2012

    Stopping by to let you know I mentioned you in my post “No Duck Sauce” and nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award Thanks for sharing your blog with the rest of us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Breakfast for Supper « What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

  3. Pingback: Graduation Week « What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2012 by in Family, Food, Friends, Kid#3, Kids, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
