What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Life’s Samplings

I have so many interests.  So varied.  Some would appear antithetical at first.  For example, I love being in the kitchen, cooking anything from main dishes to desserts but I also love being on a soccer field, coaching a team through a hard fought match.  I will sit and read devouring a book, or series of books, often ignoring those around me.  I relish in the waves of white water rafting yet find comfort in my recliner in front of the fireplace alone on a cold winter’s night.  I enjoy the solitude of a 5 mile run and I always look forward to meeting up with a group of friends for drinks at the local watering hole.

In all those activities I find peace and comfort.  There is more, obviously I like to write about things and share my thoughts with others, but I’ve often wondered about the variety.  Most people I know have a variety of interests, but they typically follow a theme.  The cooks love to cook.  They love to read about cooking.  They love to take trips to the Farmer’s Markets and orchards and other such places.  But a lot of what they do follows their passion for cooking.

I have several friends that run.  Their life revolves around it.  They train for marathons and half marathons and run daily.  They keep a log of their runs and can tell you about each of them, individually, mile by mile.

I have friends that coach.  That is their job, full time.  That is all they do.  They coach 5, 6, 7 teams a season.  They attend coaching seminars, often leading them.  They travel extensively and spend their life in warm ups, shorts and dri-weave t-shirts.

I often wonder if my interests are so varied due to a desire to sample everything.  I want to try this and I want to try that.  But I also wonder if I have some fear or inner “issue” that keeps me from committing to something.  I have three failed marriages, after all.  I sometimes wonder if each was a “sampling” of something.  I wonder if I am living my life by sampling it rather than living if fully.  I enjoy my samples, don’t get me wrong, but I sometimes wonder if I am destined to always be picking from the Whitman’s box.

A blog I read, Cribbings, had a link to a site called colorquiz.com.  I don’t normally do these sorts of things, but after reading her posting, I thought it would be fun.  And, as she says in her post, some of it turned out to be “astonishingly accurate.”  Here are some of the results from my choices:

Your Existing Situation

“Is sensitive and easily influenced by other’s thoughts and emotions. Looking for friendly, easy-going relationships and jobs that help develop them.”

Your Stress Sources

“Feels empty and isolated from others and wishes to overcome this feeling. Believes life has more to offer him than what he was experienced thus far, and doesn’t want to miss out on anything. He purses all his goals and dreams, fearful that any missed opportunity will cause him to miss out on even more.

Your Restrained Characteristics

Current events leave him feeling forced into compromise in order to avoid being cut off from affection or future cooperation.

Feels trapped in a helpless situation and is desperately seeking relief. He is able to find pleasure and happiness in sexual activity.

Is bothered when his needs and desires are misunderstood and he feels there is no one to turn to or rely on.

Your Desired Objective

“Looking for a loving relationship, which brings happiness and contentment. Brings emotional excitement to the relationship. Helpful and willing to give as much as he takes, and requires the same sort of giving relationship from others. “

Your Actual Problem

Needs to find a stable and peaceful environment which will free him of the worries that are preventing him from achieving the things he wants.

I read those results and thought about my life.  About the samplings.  It fits.  I don’t want to miss out.  And I am looking for the loving relationship described above.  whew…Maybe when I find that, my sampling will come to an end.  Or maybe she’ll be a sampler just like me.  Or maybe my sampling is the cause of failed relationships.  Maybe I am just a sampler.  All I know is I want to find out.

2 comments on “Life’s Samplings

  1. Gabriela Vargas
    March 21, 2012

    I told you so. 😛
    I’m glad you liked the quiz. 🙂

    • Chuck
      March 21, 2012

      Haha…yes, you did. It was fun.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2012 by in Family, Potpouri and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
