What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Food, glorious food…

I love to eat.  I’m also a finicky eater so I also love to cook.  I have the basic list of foods that any man can cook:  steaks, hamburgers, brats, chili, spaghetti, etc.  I also enjoy other foods, but what I really enjoy is eating what I’ve cooked myself, in my own kitchen, by my own hand.  Sometimes the experiments are a disaster.  Other times, they turn out to be rather tasty.  I have great memories that revolve around food, its preparation and the kitchen.  (See Chicken Livers and Okra and The Kitchen Table.)  All in all, it makes me happy to find something different to cook, prepare, serve, and eat.

I used to subscribe to Food and Wine magazine and its September 2011 issue included a recipe that looked really good.  I like fish and don’t get a chance to Halibut with fresh tomato sauceeat it very often.  I used halibut and substituted tumeric for the saffron threads, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty much as presented below.  It is simple enough to follow and the ingredients easy enough to find.  I had forgotten how expensive fresh halibut is, so I had some sticker shock, but that just made the meal that much more special.

When I presented it to Kids#1-3, they were underwhelmed.  Not big fish eaters, they eyed it with disdain.  Kid#2’s girlfriend, however, was eager to sample her serving.  She and I savored the flavors, the textures, the scents and the sights with anticipation.  In the skillet, the aromas were magical.  On the plate, it looked good.  On my tongue, it was all I have hoped for. I’ve never shied away from experimenting in the kitchen.  This time, the experiment paid off with an exquisite meal.  Whew…

Feeling adventurous?  Give it a try.  I promise, you won’t be disappointed.  It was a glorious meal.

In all fairness to Food and Wine, click here for the link to their site with the recipe.

Ingredients

  1. 6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  2. 5 large garlic cloves, minced
  3. 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  4. 3 pounds tomatoes, coarsely chopped
  5. 1/8 teaspoon saffron threads, crumbled
  6. 5 oregano sprigs
  7. Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  8. Zest of 1 orange, in 1-inch-wide strips, plus finely grated zest, for garnish
  9. 5 bay leaves
  10. 3 whole cloves
  11. 1 cup arborio rice
  12. Four 4-ounce skinless cod or halibut fillets
  13. Chopped parsley, for garnish
  1. In a large, deep skillet, heat 1/4 cup of the olive oil. Add the garlic and crushed red pepper and cook over moderate heat until the garlic is golden, about 1 minute. Add the tomatoes and saffron and cook over moderate heat until the tomatoes just begin to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the oregano and season with salt and black pepper. Cook the sauce over moderately low heat, stirring and crushing the tomatoes with a spoon, until the sauce is thickened and the liquid is reduced, about 35 minutes. Discard the oregano.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large pot of boiling salted water, combine the orange zest strips, bay leaves, cloves, rice and 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and cook until the rice is al dente, 15 to 18 minutes. Drain the rice, discarding the zest, bay leaves and cloves. Return the rice to the pot. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil and season with salt.
  3. Nestle the cod in the tomato sauce and cook, turning the fillets once, until just opaque throughout, about 12 minutes.
  4. Spoon the rice into bowls and top with the cod and sauce. Sprinkle with parsley and finely grated orange zest and serve.

9 comments on “Food, glorious food…

  1. Gabriela Vargas
    March 21, 2012

    I’m gonna try this once I have my own kitchen. It looks so YUM!

    • Chuck
      March 21, 2012

      It was incredible. You should try it. 🙂

      • Gabriela Vargas
        March 21, 2012

        I’m not really a fish lover, but my dad would go crazy over this. It’s sounds fun enough to try! 🙂

      • Chuck
        March 21, 2012

        I got plenty of others to share that aren’t fish. And are much easier. LOL

      • Gabriela Vargas
        March 21, 2012

        Share away! 😛

      • Chuck
        March 21, 2012

        If we don’t go out for dinner tonight, I’ll make something quick and easy and post it, along with pictures, for you. Otherwise, I’ll make it tomorrow. In the meantime, I put up something else yummy and tasty.

      • Gabriela Vargas
        March 21, 2012

        Ooo. Sounds perfect! That would be amazingly sweet. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Taking a Shortcut to Pineapple-Mango Mahi-Mahi « What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

  3. Pingback: What Happened to the Food | What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2012 by in A Southern Perspective, Family, Food, Potpouri and tagged , , , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
