What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Looking ahead

The pace of the last few weeks has been “dizzying” in more ways than one.  Whew…time to stop and re-group!  Spring Break couldn’t arrive at a better time.

Looking ahead, I’m encouraged by the coming months.  Kid#4 is doing much better.  Ex#3 has seemed to calm herself as she continues to search for jobs in her native state.  Kid#2 is doing fairly well, though he has been having some problems eating lately.  Kid#1 is enjoying his new job, doing well and looking forward to going to Auburn in the fall.  Kid#3 is in his final season of high school soccer, a team captain and regular contributor to the score board.  He is trying to figure out what he wants to do next year, where he wants to go, etc.  Whatever he comes up with, I’m sure it will be interesting.  🙂

Looking ahead, work offers, as usual, more to do than I have hours in the day/week/month to get done.  But that is the nature of my job.  Schools are notorious for under staffing their tech departments.  Our leaders have become enamored with iPads, more for the “coolness” factor than any real educational use, but the teachers charged with putting them to use have gotten some good use out of them.  The idea that our textbooks might some day be available on them has also encouraged them to hold on to the idea that iPads are the wave of the future in education.

Regardless of their perception, we are in a post-PC/laptop era and the iPad is currently the leading device.  What bothers me is the hesitance to adopt.  I have spoken several times about the need to get off the fence.  What can kill a program and leave a distaste for technology faster than anything else is being tentative in its adoption.  Stealing from popular culture, it was Yoda himself that said, “do or do not.  There is no try.”  Even a “phased in” approach can create problems.  While it may be easier to finance that way, a phased in approach creates separate “classes” on campus.  Those that “have” the new technology and those that do not.  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see how that can affect the dynamic of a small community such as ours. Still, I look forward to moving forward.

Looking ahead I am finally ready to get out of the apartment we are living in.  My reasons for moving into and staying in this place expire with Kid#3’s graduation this spring.  The apartment has served us well, but I am cramped for space.  I am tired of having to go to my bedroom when my someone wants to play a video game or watch something on tv that doesn’t interest me.  I am tired of having such a small kitchen space.  I am tired of having to maneuver around the dining table to get to my seat.  I am tired of making sure the volume on the tv is turned down so as not to disturb the neighbors and I am tired of hearing the neighbors.  There are plenty of places I can live, nearby and for less than I’m paying now, that offer more space, more privacy and more comforts.

Looking ahead I anticipate so much.  Looking ahead I am excited.  Looking ahead I see freshness.  Of course, it is Spring and looking ahead is cliche and oh so typical this time of year.  But this year, for the first time in a long time, I am truly looking ahead with a hope and anticipation I have not had in years.  It is refreshing.  It is invigorating.  It is stimulating.  It is…well, you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2012 by in Ex#3, Family, Kid#1, Kid#2, Kid#3, Kid#4, My Job, Potpouri and tagged , , , .
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
