What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

Mother’s Day

A time to remember and reflect and honor our mother.  And I have one.  Yes, indeed I do.  And she is a pistol.  A sprite woman in her 80’s who proudly wears her “I have been to Curves 1100 times” t-shirt.

My mother was not the typical Army wife.  My father was a career man.  From draftee to full colonel, he spent 33 years in the Army.  My mother supported him and made our “home” wherever our “house” was.  That takes a strength of character and a will that many people do not have.  She is a strong-willed woman with a gentle nature.  But, she also knows when to assert herself and to make a decree.

She moved to Louisville, KY last fall, finally giving up her house in San Antonio.  She had lived there longer than any other city as an adult.  We relocated there in 1978 and they bought that house in 1983.    It was a wonderful place to bring grand kids and my mother always made us welcome.  Even when we showed up unannounced with 3 guests, she would find the room to sleep us, the food to feed us and the hospitality to entertain us.  She is very good at “going with the flow.”

She has not let age slow her down too much either.  She no longer drives, but that was her decision.  She walks to the grocery store.  She walks 3/4 of a mile to the gym 3-5 days a week and works out for 30-45 minutes at a real gym where there are plenty of guys who seem to make a living of “picking things up and putting them down.”  She is not intimidated by them in the least.  She has met the Mayor and her congressman simply by being out and about at events around town.  She is not a “stay at home” woman by any means. If she wants to go somewhere out of walking distance, she either gets my brother or one of my nephews to take her, or she calls a driver.  She is staunchly independent.

She has taught me many lessons over my life and I value them all.  She taught me the importance of family.  She taught me tolerance of others.  She taught me to respect and embrace the underdog.  She taught me to stand up for myself and to be respectful of others.  She taught me how to cook and how to do laundry.  She taught me to be independent, but also how to depend on others.  She taught me to abhor injustice and not to sit silent in its presence.  She taught me many things for which I am grateful.

I love and respect my mother.  But not just because I “should.”  My mother has earned my love and respect in the years of love and support she has given me.  She has always supported me and she has always been there.  She has shared in my greatest joys and has been there for my worst disaster.  Her love has been unconditional.  I have not made it easy on her, but she never wavered, she never faltered and she never withdrew.

So today, I honor my mother.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2011 by in Family, Potpouri.
Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
