What Was I Thinking: Married/Divorced x 3

A view from my side.

On the side of the road

Ex #2 did many strange and unusual things over the years.  One that really bothered me involved Kid#1.  At the particular time, Kid#1 was especially good at getting under the skin of Ex#2.  We did not know it at the time, but Kid#1 has a condition known as Asperger’s Syndrome.  (There is a discussion of that on his page.)

At any rate, he was irritating her pretty bad this day and I was returning from an out of town at a soccer match.  They were driving back toward my house at the time and were about 3 miles away, on a four lane highway with a 65 MPH speed limit.  She was at her wit’s end, which at the time, was not very far, and he continued to push her buttons.  She told him if he did not stop and behave, she would let him out of the van and make him walk home.

He did not let up and pushed it one more time.  She immediately pulled the van over, stopped and got out.  Cars are zooming by at speed as she opens the sliding door to the van, and pulls him out.  She steps inside the van, and, pulling the door shut, tells him to walk the rest of the way home.  She moves to the driver’s seat and pulls into traffic, leaving him standing there.

He stood there and waited, feeling certain that she would circle back and pick him up in a few minutes.  After waiting about 25 minutes, he started walking.  In the meantime, she and the other two boys made it to my house and unloaded after their weekend at their mom’s.  I arrived a few minutes later to find them all in the house.  After coming inside, I asked where Kid#1 was.  She told me the story and I set out to get him.

I found him, about .5 a mile from the house.  He looked visibly relieved to see me and got into the car.  He was upset but told me the story about what had happened.  He had been reading out loud in the back of the van.  Apparently his voice carried to the front and was irritating his mother.

So she put him out on the highway, to walk the three miles to the house.  As she told me later, only 2 of those miles were actually on the highway.

Kid#1 was 12 years old at the time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2010 by in Ex#2, Kid#1.

Navigation

Post A Day Badge

Categories

Awards –

Versatile Blogger Award
